## **SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS**

## THURSDAY, THE 29th FEBRUARY, 2024

Proceedings of the House commenced with recitation from the Holy Quran followed by its Urdu translation at 11:14 A.M. Mr. Mushtaq Ahmad Ghani, Outgoing Speaker, Provincial Assembly was in the Chair.

2. <u>Oath & Signing Role of Members.</u> In pursuance of Article 65 of the Constitution of Islamic Republic of Pakistan and rule 6 of the Provincial Assembly of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Procedure and Conduct of Business Rules, 1988, the following Members-elect took Oath before the Assembly and thereafter, signed the Roll of Members:-

## S.NO. CONSTITUENCY NO. NAME OF RETURNED CANDIDATE

117.PK-29 Shangla-IIAbdul Munim118.PK-41 TorgherLaiq Muhammad Khan

**3.** <u>Announcement.</u> The Chair announced the determined manner for the election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

**4.** <u>Election of Speaker.-</u>The Secretary Assembly read out the names of candidates i.e. Mr. Babar Saleem Swati, MPA(PK-37) proposed by Murtaza Khan and Muhammad Idrees, MsPA whereas Mr. Ehsanullah Khan (PK-115) proposed by Mr. Rashad Khan and Arbab Zarak Khan, MsPA for election of Speaker. The Assembly thereafter proceeded to elect the Speaker by secret ballot in the manner specified by the Presiding Officer. Total 106 Members were present who casted their votes in which Mr. Babar Saleem Swati, MPA secured 89 votes whereas Mr. Ehsanullah Khan, MPA secured 17 votes.

**5.** <u>Oath to the Office of Speaker.-</u>Mr. Babar Saleem Swati, MPA being elected took oath of the office before the Provincial Assembly in the form as set out in the Third Schedule of the Constitution of Islamic Republic of Pakistan. Thereafter, Mr. Babar Saleem Swati, Speaker, Provincial Assembly of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa took the Chair.

6. <u>Election of Deputy Speaker.</u> The Speaker endorsed the same manner of election of Speaker for the election of Deputy Speaker. Thereafter, the Secretary Assembly read out the names of candidates for the election of Deputy Speaker i.e. Ms. Suriya Bibi, MPA proposed by Rangez Ahmad and Mr. Faisal Khan whereas Arbab Waseem Khan, MPA was proposed by Sardar Shahjehan Yousaf and Mr. Ahmad Kundi, MsPA. Total 106 Members were present who casted their votes in which Ms. Suriya Bibi, MPA secured 87 and Arbab Muhammad Waseem Khan, MPA got 19 votes.

7. <u>Oath to the Office of Speaker.-</u>Ms. Suriya Bibi, MPA being elected as Deputy Speaker took oath of the office before the Provincial Assembly in the form as set out in the Third Schedule of the Constitution of Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

8. The Chair announced schedule of election for the Chief Minister.

## 9. THE SITTING WAS ADJOURNED TILL 10:00 A.M OF FRIDAY, THE 1<sup>st</sup> MARCH, 2024.